Great Expectations

Great Expectations

Snow softly falls from the sky

Marking the day with a beauty that leaves me breathless

My journey was quick through the streets

As though I had been here before and knew the way

Walking into the door for my meeting I was filled with hope

Only to have reality stare back at me

Part of myself wished I could say yes and fall to pieces

But that could never be

Instead I paid respect, said what was in my heart and walked away

Now the rest of the day was all for me

And isn’t that the best gift of all?

Leave a Reply

