Friend

Friend

Years ago I was troubled at the thought

Of leaving behind the home I had made for myself

The time I had spent in university had been wonderful

Being on my own away from familar places

Opened my mind to things I cherish to this day

As I was about to leave I said to a friend I would miss this place

Because I could go anywhere and bump into people

To feel like I had a community not based on who I was related to but because of who I was

My friend said no matter where I go I would get that feeling again

And today I can say several years I did

Right in this moment making it well worth the wait

Leave a Reply

