My legacy

My legacy

On my shoulder pressing down on me

Is the burden of what could have been

No matter the time or the place

I feel it there reminding me

That each step I take is one towards

All the things people around me

Only dream about each day

On my shoulder pressing down on me

Is the burden of unfullfiled dreams

Of all the people around me

Reminding me never to settle

For anything less than what I deserve

Otherwise the burden would drift away

Replaced by the pressure inside my heart

That time has slipped away

Leave a Reply

