How could I begrudge your place

How could I begrudge your place

For hours on end

I can pretend

That my place in the world

Has been laid down

Simply by my effort

Then today I am reminded

In a simple transaction

That certain people

Who despite all strikes against them

Will be pushed ahead of me

Whether it is because I was born

The wrong gender, ethnicity, weight, or religion

Whether way I am always treated by some

With the littlest amount of respect they can get away with

But

I could never begrudge those position in life

Is always a step ahead

Nothing in life is guaranteed

And I know eventually

I will be treated with all the respect I deserve

Leave a Reply

