Crowded room

Crowded room

Today a thought comes to me

While I sit in a crowded room

Enjoying an Earl Grey tea

Looking around the room

People come in and out

Some going to the washroom

Or some ordering food

I look at one person and wonder

If I eyes should meet would she look back

Think nothing of a stranger in room

Looking back at her

But I fight this need to talk

As a kid I never understood

Why interacting with people I didn’t know

Could often lead to trouble

When all I saw was someone I could connect to

Today reminds me of all those moments

Where in a crowded room

Someone spoke to me and we had a quick talk

Not about anything important

But just exchanging the reminder

We are all here sharing the same space

But today that doesn’t happen

I draw my eyes away from her

And continue about my day

Leave a Reply

