Never Apologize

Never Apologize

Should I apologize

For the crime of being myself?

To put my need, wishes, desires

In your hands to decide

Whether they are valid

Can I not scream in frustration

And not need a word back in response

Because that’s what makes me, me

Or should I apologize

For all the times I have to keep the doors

Shut tight against all your demands

When each day I hate the thought

Of seeing you lie on the couch

After I have worked a full day of work

Or should I apologize

For all the times

I turned the other cheek and didn’t react to you snide comments

Made as though your opinion

Matters the most in the world above everyone’s s

I don’t smoke or drink to excess

Instead I wrap myself in a tight ball for comfort

Should I apologize for not meeting your expectations?

Or

Should I carry on

Try to loosen the binds around myself

And put the distance we so need between us

Because I am not the person you need

And I am never going to apologize for that

Leave a Reply

