Lookout

Lookout

I scan the room when I enter the room

Four years ago I did that but I missed the signs of trouble

Few women in positions of power

Too many people standing around talking for hours

And an overly helpful human resources manager

But I wasn’t looking too closely because I just wanted to be employed

Not just to support myself because at that point financially I was fine

No I wanted to work to maintain a routine and not to be at home

Now four years later there is nothing to fear

The faces that look back at me now smile and carry on their work

The faces that look back at me now  welcome me into their world

And those are the faces I would like to look back on

Leave a Reply

