Angry Black Woman

Angry Black Woman

One my chest

There is one badge

That rests close to my heart

Not my degrees

Not my accomplishments

Not my family

Not my friends

Ever present

No matter how I act

Staring back at me

The angry black woman

People naturally fear

Make my voice heard

It shakes people to the bone

Cutting them into ribbons

So I must whisper

Lest I cause someone harm

For when I see injustice

It burns away the control I have

Reveal all the restrictions

Keeping myself at bay

God forbid it should get out

God forbid for people to deal

With the consequences of their actions

Held to the heat of my eyes

Leave a Reply

