Children

Children

Children at my table

Shy as they hold tight

To their parents hands

They look at me – curiously

How has she invaded our space

She doesn’t seem to belong

Her hair is different

Her smile is mischievous

Children at my table

Come closer and closer

Drawn by what I am giving away

Not the information

Not the pens

The little toys have their attention

Children at my table

Shy no more

All my differences no longer outweigh

The small gifts I am giving away

Their parents are steps away

As the Children talk and laugh with the toys

Children at my table

Come back time and again

Not my intention but rarely do things

Ever go as planned for me

If I slip in some information

Into their little hands

So maybe their parents would look at

If I slip in some information

Into their minds

So many differences wouldn’t have be

Overcome with a toy

So maybe they will encounter people

As if they were just people

At the end of the day

With their parents showing them the way

Leave a Reply

