Fear

Fear

For as long as I live

There will always be something with me

A gift from my parents

That I would never return

Why they each time I faltered

Give me this gift of fear

I hope it was to protect me

But I know it wasn’t the case

They wanted to keep me small

Safe within the lens of their glaze

I’ve seen the smallness in my sister

I’ve seen the smallnes in my brother

The fear to go outside themselves

The fear to be what my parents needed 

That would never work on me

And I lived with the consequences 

But the point I’ve missed, forgotten, and stumbled upon time and time again

I’ve lived my life despite the fear

Resting in the back of my mind

I’ve lived my life no matter what

And I cannot live life any other way

Leave a Reply

